© 2019 Dr. Natasha Parekh

Background:

I am a licensed psychologist with a doctorate degree in school psychology. My areas of practice include serving children, adolescents, and young adults with a broad range of concerns, including mood and anxiety disorders, self-injurious behaviors, disordered eating, ADHD, conduct disorders, and behavioral insomnia. I received my PhD in school psychology from the University of Florida, where I experienced serving children not only in the school setting, but also in an outpatient behavioral health unit and an inpatient hospital. I completed a clinical internship at Boys Town Behavioral Health in Omaha, NE where I provided individual, group, and family therapy, as well as consultation services to teachers. I moved to Minneapolis for my postdoctoral training at Children’s Hospital in St. Paul where I became certified in Parent-Child Interaction Therapy and received training in treating behavioral insomnia and non-adherence to medical regimens for type 1 diabetes.

Treatment Approach:

My treatment approach starts first and foremost with the goal of building a relationship with both the child and their parents. Depending on the needs of each client, I develop a unique and individualized plan for the child utilizing a combination of cognitive-behavioral evidence based practices, including but not limited to, acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT), and behavioral activation. I enjoy creating a relaxed, comfortable, and light-hearted atmosphere while often incorporating humor into my practice. I also encourage feedback every step of the way to ensure the client is feeling his/her goals are being addressed. Finally, I strongly believe that the purpose of therapy is not only to address symptoms, but to improve overall well-being and enhance quality of life through positive psychology and mindfulness-based practices.

For Fun:

I am originally from Houston, Texas, and still learning how to bear the frigid winter that Minnesota has brought to my life! During my free time, I love to take dance classes, hike, or practice yoga. I also enjoy every opportunity to travel especially after having studied abroad in Spain and Ecuador.